top of page

Project Stage 0: Searching

Looking for a project introduced a few hurdles, namely what to look for inside a project and what to try to avoid. There are hundreds of projects which are available and picking one without proper due diligence can lead you down a road of pain.


In order to find a project which I would consider optimizing I developed a checklist to examine each package I considered:


1. Can I successfully compile and execute the package without issues on my system

2. Do I understand what the program is doing

3. Can I navigate the directories with ease inside the package

4. Is there a website/github page associated with the package

5. Is there a community or someone to reach out too

6. How convoluted is the code




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing Thoughts

For my final blog post I would like to discuss what I have learned and plan to utilize in the future from this course. So although I was not able to successfully improve my package to operate function

Stage 3 Optimization(COMPUTER ARCHITECTURE ENDIANESS)

Seeing as how the compiler flags did not provide any optimization I will on to my next attempt which is converting big endian to small endian. The aarch64 architecture uses the little endian byte orde

Stage 3 Optimization(Compiler Flags)

My first attempt to optimize the project will be to work with the compiler flag options. By default the compiler is set to compile in this manner "gcc -E -g -o2" The -E option represents preprocesses

bottom of page