top of page

Lab 5 Introduction

In this lab, I will investigate the impact of different algorithms which produce the same effect. I will test and select one of three algorithms for adjusting the volume of PCM audio samples based on benchmarking.


We are given a pre coded program which fills an array with a predetermined size of (500,000) which we can adjust to make faster or slower. It fills the first array with random numbers , and the second array is calculated by going through each element in the first array and multiplying the value of the first array by 0.75.


Depending on which version we will be using the algorithm to reach the goal above might be different.


We will be using various tools to profile these programs. A profiler, profiling is the process of determining how a program is using the resources that it is consuming.


We can potentially use up to 4 profilers in this lab.

  • gprof

  • perf

  • oprofile

  • SystemTap

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing Thoughts

For my final blog post I would like to discuss what I have learned and plan to utilize in the future from this course. So although I was not able to successfully improve my package to operate function

Stage 3 Optimization(COMPUTER ARCHITECTURE ENDIANESS)

Seeing as how the compiler flags did not provide any optimization I will on to my next attempt which is converting big endian to small endian. The aarch64 architecture uses the little endian byte orde

Stage 3 Optimization(Compiler Flags)

My first attempt to optimize the project will be to work with the compiler flag options. By default the compiler is set to compile in this manner "gcc -E -g -o2" The -E option represents preprocesses

bottom of page